Welcome friends...

We are Beautiful as We Are: Awakening to the Power of this Moment is the title I've settled on (finally!!!) for my new book, in PDF only at this stage.

Below is an excerpt from lesson # 55, Ending Self-Doubt and Self-Esteem Issues:

    Feelings of self-doubt, and low self-esteem or low self-worth are very common when we are still identified with being “somebody”—with this ego, this “self” inside ourselves that we still think and believe we are.

    Again, it stems from our early childhood conditioning, usually due to feelings of abandonment or betrayal, or emotional abuse or wounding. We grow up with a self-image or identity that lacks confidence, doesn’t feel safe, and doesn’t trust itself—and, inevitably, doesn’t trust life.

    But who is this “I,” this “self” we take ourselves to be who feels unworthy, not at all confident of “itself?” This “self” with all its insecurities, this “self” that we feel needs to be defended, validated, and justified—and, when it’s not getting its needs met, lashes out in anger, or withdraws and feels guilty or ashamed for asking.

    But when we pause to look within, and question the actual existence of this “I” that we take ourselves to be, we see that that it cannot be found. It is a thought, a concept that comes and goes in our awareness, yet we—the seeing, the watching, the experiencing—are always here.

    Cling to no image of “self,” keep returning to this clear seeing of what is—the actual truth of things, right here and right now—and we will inevitably realize a new depth of freedom.

    We will see that this psychological/emotional image and idea of a “me” that we’ve been constructing between our ears since we were very young, and that we have been assuming is “us,” is indeed an illusion.

    In this seeing of the truth of what we are, the illusion falls away, disappears, and we are left sitting or standing here as our true, confident, radiant “Self”—although that too is just a pointer describing the clear, creative human being we are.

    Then the whole inner world of “me, myself, and my story of low self-esteem”—or whatever the “story” is—has disappeared for us, because we’ve seen that it was never real in the first place!

    And yet what such uncomfortable feelings in the body—anxiety, fear, a chronic feeling of self-doubt—it created all those years when we “believed” our “story!”

    The more we recognize this truth, actually see it, the more grounded we become in our true nature, in awakened consciousness, the wisdom, love, and creative power within us—and, paradoxically, the stronger and clearer our ego is when we need to call on it, when it needs to assert itself.

 

No matter how successful we are, deep down we’ll have some issue with self-doubt or self-esteem so long as we take ourselves to be a “self,” a “somebody.”

 

 But there is no problem when we see that this “self” we took ourselves to be doesn’t exist, and never did—except at a “story” in our mind…

Click here to see the book cover, read the 108 lesson titles and the first few pages, and get the PDF for $14.95 - or get it free with my special, limited-time offer.

Love and blessings,

Jim

 

End Your Story, Begin Your Life 

My book, End Your Story, Begin Your Life published by Hampton Roads ($16.95) is in paperback. It has been widely-praised as one of the best and clearest guides to being free while fully engaging in the marketplace of daily life. More details on the Books page. Also available as an audiobook.

An article about Jim and his work, by Joyce Tate Dvoren, is in the December 2011 issue of LA Yoga. Titled ‘Three Steps to Freedom,’ it can be read online at http://www.layoga-digital.com/layoga/201112#pg22

New Blog

My blog, which I used to call Reflections on Freedom, and is still on the subject I am most passionate about, is now at my Facebook page, link below. I generally make a new entry several times a week, my current musings - including, sometimes, a piece from one of my books - on this timeless and most important subject.

Wisdom Mailing

Sign up for the free, monthly Wisdom Mailing, which contains a short excerpt from my current writing, plus other news, go to Contact Us on the menu. Type "Wisdom" for the Message Subject.

The Essence of my Teaching

Nonduality, nondual, spiritual, enlightenment, awakening, self-realization, and liberation are all pointers to the ultimate truth of life, but they aren't truth itself.  Meditation, awareness, and mindfulness can help us awaken to the truth, but it is only through direct seeing - "Oh, I am not any thought of or story, and not even this 'I' thought" - that we awaken to who and what we really are. Then we discover the peace, happiness, joy, and love that is our true nature. This is the direct path. the path that leads to the awakening to oneness. 

My work is in the tradition of Jean Klein, Ramana Maharshi, and Nisargadatta, Maharaj, but it is very contemporary, addressing the challenges of our time, and has been compared to Eckhart Tolle, author of Power of Now, Adyashanti, and Deepak Chopra.

  

Jim Dreaver photo

Click HERE to Jim on FaceBook.