Welcome friends...

Introducing the 21-day awakening challenge… 

Awakening is the greatest gift we’ll ever give ourselves. Every person who has awakened—and there are more and more of us, young and old, throughout the world waking up every day—knows this.

 

What is awakening? It is to know ourselves as the changeless awareness, consciousness, or presence with is always here, dancing with the ever-changing thoughts and “stories,” including this “I” or ego thought, as well as feelings, emotions, events, and circumstances of our lives. 

 

Awakening is the true healing, because it frees us from all suffering, from taking things personally. We know that who and what we are is way bigger than anything could ever happen to us—even the most severe crisis.

 

I am inviting everyone into the 21-day awakening challenge, where we take 10 – 20 minutes or more each day to sit quietly, and say the liberation mantra 3 x to ourselves: “Everything comes and goes in the awareness I am…”

 

Then we breathe, relax, and be the awareness we are as we watch how our thoughts, feelings, and emotions come and go. When we find ourselves getting caught up in a thought or “story,” that’s our signal to come back to the mantra.

 

It takes 21 days to get used to a new habit, so this challenge will establish us more firmly in our true, awakened nature. Then, whether we continue to meditate or not after the 21 days, the mantra will always be there to remind us…

Click here to read about my new book, and get the PDF for $9.95.

Love and blessings,

Jim

 

End Your Story, Begin Your Life 

My book, End Your Story, Begin Your Life published by Hampton Roads ($16.95) is in paperback. It has been widely-praised as one of the best and clearest guides to being free while fully engaging in the marketplace of daily life. More details on the Books page. Also available as an audiobook.

An article about Jim and his work, by Joyce Tate Dvoren, is in the December 2011 issue of LA Yoga. Titled ‘Three Steps to Freedom,’ it can be read online at http://www.layoga-digital.com/layoga/201112#pg22

New Blog

My blog, which I used to call Reflections on Freedom, and is still on the subject I am most passionate about, is now at my Facebook page, link below. I generally make a new entry several times a week, my current musings - including, sometimes, a piece from one of my books - on this timeless and most important subject.

Wisdom Mailing

Sign up for the free, monthly Wisdom Mailing, which contains a short excerpt from my current writing, plus other news, go to Contact Us on the menu. Type "Wisdom" for the Message Subject.

The Essence of my Teaching

Nonduality, nondual, spiritual, enlightenment, awakening, self-realization, and liberation are all pointers to the ultimate truth of life, but they aren't truth itself.  Meditation, awareness, and mindfulness can help us awaken to the truth, but it is only through direct seeing - "Oh, I am not any thought of or story, and not even this 'I' thought" - that we awaken to who and what we really are. Then we discover the peace, happiness, joy, and love that is our true nature. This is the direct path. the path that leads to the awakening to oneness. 

My work is in the tradition of Jean Klein, Ramana Maharshi, and Nisargadatta, Maharaj, but it is very contemporary, addressing the challenges of our time, and has been compared to Eckhart Tolle, author of Power of Now, Adyashanti, and Deepak Chopra.

  

Jim Dreaver photo

Click HERE to Jim on FaceBook.