Welcome friends...

My new book is now titled,  Flowing in Freedom: Mastering the Simple Mantra that Liberates our True Power.

Mark Victor Hansen, Co-Creator, #1 New York Times best-selling series Chicken Soup for the Soul, said of it: “Everyone wants to achieve mastery. You have in your hands the guide to instantly absorb and use the wisdom herein.”  

Click below to read more. Meanwhile, here's a taste...

 

DOING THE PRACTICE

 

Mastering the Shift

 

    To master the shift, which is essential for true awakening, the final freedom, we must be totally honest with ourselves as we search ceaselessly inwardly for the answer to the question: “Where am I not yet free?”

    We must leave no stone unturned in our quest for freedom, no “thought” we identify with unexamined.

    But, ultimately, we discover that a single thought alone is responsible for all our self-doubt, suffering, and misery—the “I,” or ego thought, the “self” we most personally and intimately identify with.

    We must realize that the “I,” the “story-teller,” is no more real than the “stories” it tells—after all it, too, comes and goes—yet we, as the bright, shining awareness we are, are still very much here. Once this is seen we come upon a peace that is beyond understanding.

    We still have an “I” thought, an ego, but now we know we are not it. We still have “stories,” lots of them, and our emotional history, but we now know that we are not that either. Freed of the sense of being an “I,” a psychological/emotional “person,” our mind is much, much quieter, more alert and present.

    Then we come to true inner silence, a silence that does not need words or anything else to sustain it, because it is the foundation, the background, the context of our very being. It a silence that is healing, vast beyond worlds, and is continually self-renewing. It is a silence that is the source of everything, that is rich and full of an infinitely vibrant love, compassion, and creative energy. 

    And we realize we are the silence, that we and it are one—right now, right here, in this very moment...

 

Click HERE to read more about my new book, get the PDF for ANY amount by clicking the DONATE button... and see my special private session offer... 

Love and blessings,

Jim

 

End Your Story, Begin Your Life

My book, End Your Story, Begin Your Life published by Hampton Roads ($16.95) is in paperback. It has been praised as one of the best and clearest guides to being free while fully engaging in the marketplace of daily life. More details on the Books page. Also available as an audiobook.

An article about my work, by Joyce Tate Dvoren, is in the December 2011 issue of LA Yoga. Titled ‘Three Steps to Freedom,’ it can be read online at http://www.layoga-digital.com/layoga/201112#pg22

The Essence of my Teaching

Nonduality, nondual, spiritual, enlightenment, awakening, self-realization, and liberation are all pointers to the ultimate truth of life, but they aren't truth itself.  Meditation, awareness, and mindfulness can help us awaken to the truth, but it is only through direct seeing - "Oh, I am not any thought of or story, and not even this 'I' thought" - that we awaken to who and what we really are. Then we discover the peace, happiness, joy, and love that is our true nature. This is the direct path. the path that leads to the awakening to oneness. 

My work is in the tradition of Jean Klein, Ramana Maharshi, and Nisargadatta, Maharaj, but it is very contemporary, addressing the challenges of our time, and has been compared to Eckhart Tolle, author of Power of Now, Adyashanti, and Byron Katie.

New Blog

My blog, which I used to call Reflections on Freedom, and is on the subject I am most passionate about, is now at my Facebook page, link below. I generally make a new entry several times a month, my current musings - including, sometimes, a piece from one of my books - on this timeless and most important subject.

Wisdom Mailing

Sign up for the free, monthly Wisdom Mailing, which contains a short excerpt from my current writing, plus other news, go to Contact Us on the menu. Type "Wisdom" for the Message Subject.

 

Jim Dreaver photo

Click HERE for FaceBook.