Welcome friends...

You are invited to watch my February 2015 90 minute interview with Rick Archer on "Buddha at the Gas Pump." Click here to enjoy!

Maybe you’ve tasted awakening, the freedom that is your true nature. But the truth is you still get caught in your “story” of self-doubt, worry, anxiety, resentment, anger, guilt, or some other emotional reaction.

I teach the freedom practice, a simple way of seeing how everything in your mind—beliefs, thoughts, the ‘I’ or ego “story,” and every feeling and emotion—comes and goes, yet you, as the awareness watching it all, are always here. Doing the practice every time you experience conflict, upset, or suffering helps you awaken to a deeper sense of ease and well-being in the present.

While there is no “perfect” realization—we are still human, still have residues of old ego patterns—awakening is the most empowering experience we can have. As we breathe into it, we feel a deep sense of oneness with everything. We’re in the flow, with our mind clear and our heart wide open. We are truly happy, and our happiness doesn’t depend on anything outside ourselves—it shines on its own!

Then, when we bring our attention to the problems or challenges in life, whether health, family, relationships, work, money, creativity, or something else, we use our power of thought and intention to deal with it in a wise and loving way.

Love and blessings,

Jim


My NEW Book

My brand new book, titled You Are Beautiful as You Are, has just been released as a PDF. Peter Russell, author The Global Brain and From Science to God, said of it:

“Jim makes the essence of awakening so simple and clear. No esoteric teachings, no metaphysical language, no complex practices, just simple instructions that open you to the luminous truth of your own being.”

The book consists of 108 lessons, each of them no longer than a page or two, that I have found important for realizing awakening in daily life—for living and expressing the wisdom, love, and creative power that are your true nature. Click "Special Events" on the menu bar to read more, and learn how you can receive a free copy.

Audio Meditations

From my book, The Simple Truth of Happiness. The eight meditations are titled: 1) The Perfection of this Moment, 2) Choosing Thoughts, 3) Knowing Yourself as the Changeless, 4) Forgiveness, 5) Revisiting Past Traumas, 6) Deeper Levels of Resistance, 7) The Experience of Oneness, and 8) Looking into a Mirror.

All 8 meditations, read by me, for just $19.95 ($24.95 gets you the PDF of the book as well). Visit www.paypal.com, click "Send Money," send $19.95 to This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it , and I'll send you the MP3's.

Just want the PDF? Follow the same Paypal process above and send $14.95

End Your Story, Begin Your Life in Softcover

My book, End Your Story, Begin Your Life published by Hampton Roads ($16.95) is in paperback. It has been widely-praised as one of the best and clearest guides to being free while fully engaging in the marketplace of daily life. More details on the Books page. Also available as an audiobook.

An article about Jim and his work, by Joyce Tate Dvoren, is in the December 2011 issue of LA Yoga. Titled ‘Three Steps to Freedom,’ it can be read online at http://www.layoga-digital.com/layoga/201112#pg22

New Blog

My blog, which I used to call Reflections on Freedom, and is still on the subject I am most passionate about, is now at my Facebook page, link below. I generally make a new entry several times a week, my current musings - including, sometimes, a piece from one of my books - on this timeless and most important subject.

Wisdom Mailing

Sign up for the free, monthly Wisdom Mailing, which contains a short excerpt from my current writing, plus other news, go to Contact Us on the menu. Type "Wisdom" for the Message Subject.

The Essence of my Teaching

Nonduality, nondual, spiritual,  enlightenment, awakening, self-realization, and liberation are all pointers to the ultimate truth of life, but they aren't truth itself.  Meditation, awareness, and mindfulness can help us awaken to the truth, but it is only through direct seeing - "Oh, I am not any thought of or story, and not even this 'I' thought" - that we awaken to who and what we really are. Then we discover the peace, happiness, joy, and love that is our true nature. This is the direct path. the path that leads to the awakening to oneness.

My work is in the tradition of Jean Klein, Ramana Maharshi, and Nisargadatta, Maharaj, but it is very contemporary, addressing the challenges of our time, and has been compared to Eckhart Tolle, author of Power of Now, Adyashanti, and Deepak Chopra. 

 

 

Jim Dreaver photo
Join Jim on FaceBook.